Just in case you missed them, here are The Press Democrat’s All-Empire soccer selections for the 2008-09 high school season.
The picks for the MVPs and the 1st and 2nd teams were made by our staff with input from coaches around the Empire.
There were multiple choices in all of the MVP races, but we decided to limit it to one, rather than co-MVPs on any of the four teams.
We also, for the most part, placed what we considered as the top players at their positions, not necessarily the best 11 players regardless of position. We felt that made it a more meaningful team.
Following is our small-school boys team:

MVP: Edwin Meza, Calistoga, sr., forward

Meza scored a CIF-leading 50 goals to lead Calistoga to a 20-2-2 record and the NCL II title. Meza, the NCL II MVP, scored 55 goals as a junior. Calistoga lost to Branson, 3-2, in a double-overtime shootout loss in the NCS semifinals.
Meza will attend Jefferson College, a community college in Hillsboro, Mo. Jefferson won the mythical Division I junior college national championship in 2006.
“The second time around in league, Edwin would have three or four guys surrounding him,” Calistoga coach Juan Carlos Garcia said. “Other teams didn’t care if we scored, they just didn’t want Edwin to score.”

First team

Goalie: Hector Machuca, Roseland Prep, sr.
Forward: Sergio Gutierrez, Anderson Valley, so.
Forward: Jorge Mora, St. Helena, Jr.
Forward: Tyler Vichi, Fort Bragg, sr.
Midfielder: Mitchell Arroyo, Calistoga, so.
Midfielder: Gustavo Moreno, Roseland Prep, Sr.
Midfielder: Hugo Vargas, Calistoga, sr.
Defender: Alex Carlton, Mendocino, sr.
Defender: Domingo Ferreyra, Anderson Valley, jr.
Defender: Jairo Perez, Anderson Valley, sr.
Defender: Erick Ramos, Fort Bragg, sr.

Second Team

Daniel Almanza, St. Helena, sr., midfielder
Logan Baumgartner, Fort Bragg, sr., goalie
Diego Canales, Sonoma Academy, jr., midfielder
Darwin Cortez, Tomales, jr., forward
Daniel Cunnigham, St. Vincent, sr., defender-midfielder
Jose Estrada, Cloverdale, sr., midfielder
Tony Manzo, St. Helena, sr., defender
Kendall McIntosh, Sonoma Academy, fr., goalie
Nick Owen, Fort Bragg, sr., forward
Ivan Sanchez, Clear Lake, jr., defender-midfielder
Oscar Sanchez, Tomales, so., forward
Nestor Santillon, Point Arena, jr., midfielder

Coach of the Year: Juan Carlos Garcia, Calistoga