Just in case you missed them, here are The Press Democrat’s All-Empire soccer selections for the 2008-09 high school season.
The picks for the MVPs and the 1st and 2nd teams were made by our staff with input from coaches around the Empire.
There were multiple choices in all of the MVP races, but we decided to limit it to one, rather than co-MVPs on any of the four teams.
We also, for the most part, placed what we considered as the top players at their positions, not necessarily the best 11 players regardless of position. We felt that made it a more meaningful team.
Following is our large-school boys team:

MVP: Zac Olson, Maria Carrillo, Sr., midfielder

Olson’s energy was about as consistent as the Pumas’ winning ways.
Led by Olson’s frenetic pace ” not to mention his five goals and four assists ” Maria Carrillo went 20-0-3 and won its second North Coast Section title in the past three years.
Olson is expected to play at Sonoma State.
“He had an incredible work rate,” Pumas coach Mike Mastin said. “He just would not stop during practice and games. In soccer, we call guys like Zac box-to-box players. He really ran from penalty box to penalty box.”

First team

Goalie- Chris Hernandez, Windsor, Jr.
Forward- Kyle Marsh, Santa Rosa, Sr.
Forward- David Mendez, Windsor, Jr.
Forward- Cody Levar, Maria Carrillo, Sr.
Midfielder- Austin Meyer, Maria Carrillo, Jr.
Midfielder- Octavio Estupinan, Montgomery, Sr.
Midfielder- Eric Bolen, Analy, Sr.
Defender- Riley Kovatch, Maria Carrillo, Sr.
Defender- Andrew Owenson, Cardinal Newman, Jr.
Defender- Michael Powell, Casa Grande, Sr.
Defender- Hector Morales, Elsie Allen, Sr.

Second Team

Goalie- Chris Kelly, Montgomery, Soph.
Forward- Cortland Forsyth, Maria Carrillo, Sr.
Forward- Taylor Varnadore, Analy, Jr.
Forward- Ricardo Flores, Sonoma Valley, Sr.
Midfielder- Nico Spann, Montgomery, Sr.
Midfielder- Tito Ramos, Windsor, Sr.
Midfielder- Joe Alexander-Short, Sonoma Valley, Jr.
Defender- P.J. Seiffert, Maria Carrillo, Sr.
Defender- Zack Perry, Maria Carrillo, Sr.
Defender- Bryan Jamero, Cardinal Newman, Sr.
Defender- Tyler Conner, Windsor, Soph.

Coach of the Year: Mike Mastin, Maria Carrillo